Sign up for our newsletter


Paris-Roubaix 2022: Route, start list and all you need to know

Cyclist magazine
11 Apr 2022

Key information about the 2022 Paris-Roubaix, which takes place on Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th April: Route, riders, TV & cobbled sectors

Paris-Roubaix 2016: Race report

Orica-Greenedge's Mat Hayman won a vintage edition of Paris-Roubaix on Sunday, in a career-defining moment for the 37 year old, participating in his 15th Paris-Roubaix, and only a matter of weeks on from breaking his arm at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.  

The early breakaway took a long time to form, with a furious opening couple of hours full of attacks and counter attacks, which consistently pulled back those trying to escape. But after 60km a move eventually went clear, and it contained none other than eventual winner Hayman.

Team Sky and Etixx-QuickStep led the damage limitation behind, and it was due to their being at the front of the peloton that left them better off after a succession of crashes during the early sectors. Better off than Cancellara and Sagan, that is, as both were held up and were destined never to see the front.

Crashes and attacks in the lead group saw it split and regroup, until eventually a quintet of Ian Stannard, Tom Boonen, Sep Vanmarcke, Mat Hayman and Edvald Boasson Hagen formed on the Camphin-en-Pevele sector. Vanmarcke tried to go clear on the Carrefour de l'Arbre - the last five-star instalment - but was slowly towed back by Stannard and Boonen.

Attack after attack in the closing stages showed nothing more than the fact that nobody had an ounce of strength left, with each hauling effort as slow-motion and ineffective as the next. Hayman and Boonen looked to have a reasonable gap, but Vanmarcke appeared as they entered the velodrome, and in the end it was Hayman who triumphed in an excruciating 5-up sprint to the line.

Boonen was denied his record 5th win, and Australia rejoiced in the delirium of Hayman's unbelievable victory.  

Orica-Greenedge Backstage Pass

Read more about: