Sign up for our newsletter


Key information about the 2020 British National Road Championships: Route, riders and all the details

Joseph Delves
12 Mar 2020

Key information about the 2020 British National Road Championships, which take place 18th-20th June

The 2020 British National Road Championships will take place 18th-20th June 2020 in and around Wolverhampton in the Midlands.

All the road races will run between Birmingham and Wolverhampton. Both Men’s and Women’s Elite and Under-23 road races will start in Centenary Square, Birmingham.

With the Elite and U23 Women covering 136.3km and gaining 1,285-metres of elevation, the Elite and U23 Men will ride 172.7km and gain 1,611 metres.

The routes

Road Races

Both men's and women's courses leave Birmingham through the borough of Sandwell towards Dudley, before passing into South Staffordshire and then up Himley Hall.

Seisdon marks the beginning of an 18km circuit. Multiple loops of this will vary the length of the course, with each lap climbing The Holloway/Church Road, which is the largest ascent of the day.

The women will face five of these, while the men will take on seven. Both races then travel to the shared finish line in Wolverhampton city centre.

Time Trials

The route for the time-trials starts and finishes in Atherstone, Warwickshire. Striking south-west to Furnace End, the women will cover 23.6km, while a second lap will bring the total for the men to 41.4km. With the tarmac running through fields and between hedgerows, the picturesque course is gently rolling and relatively non-technical.

UK live TV coverage

British National Road Championships 2020 is expected to be shown live from start to finish on the British Cycling website, with additional coverage on Eurosport

British National Road Championships 2020: Start list and teams


Defending Champions

Men’s Road Race

1st Ben Swift
2nd Ian Stannard
3rd John Archibald

Women’s Road Race

1st Alice Barnes
2nd Anna Henderson
3rd Lizzie Holden

Men’s Time-Trial

1st Alex Dowsett
2nd John Archibald
3rd Steve Cummings

Women’s Time-Trial

1st Alice Barnes
2nd Hayley Simmonds
3rd Hannah Barnes

British National Championships 2020: Schedule

Time Trials – Thursday 18th June 2020

Start/Finish Atherstone Town Centre, Warwickshire

Elite Men - 41.4km
Women Elite, Women U23 & Men U23 – 23.6km

Schedule (subject to change)

TBC - U23 Men
TBC - Elite Women
TBC - Elite Men
TBC - U23 Women

Road Races - Saturday 20th June 2020

Start - Centenary Square, Birmingham, Finish - Wolverhampton city centre

Elite & U23 Men -172.7km (including 13km neutral)
Elite & U23 Women - 136.3km (including 13km neutral)

Schedule (subject to change)

9:00 - U23 Women
9:00 - Elite Women
15:00 - U23 Men
15:00 - Elite Men

Read more about: