Sign up for our newsletter


Tour de Yorkshire 2022 postponed

Robyn Davidson
1 Sep 2021

Ongoing coronavirus pandemic and financial uncertainties cited for popular event's third straight postponement

The Tour de Yorkshire has been cancelled for 2022 after mutual consent between race organisers Welcome to Yorkshire and ASO.

This will mark the third straight year that the race has not been held, with the most recent editions won by Team Ineos’ Chris Lawless and Marianne Vos of CCC-Liv back in 2019.

The Tour de Yorkshire was postponed in 2020 and 2021 due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and in ruling out the race for 2022 organisers have cited the impact of Covid-19, escalating financial challenges and uncertainties.

It has not been revealed whether the race will return in the future.

CEO of ASO Yann Le Moenner said, ‘In 2014, Yorkshire offered the Tour de France one of the most memorable Grand Départs in its history. Hundreds of thousands of spectators came out to support the greatest riders, all of whom were taken aback by the enthusiastic support.

'Sporting success was also on the menu thanks to a route that seemed built for cycling. A strong relationship between the Tour de France and Yorkshire was born and was confirmed in the creation of a new annual event, the Tour de Yorkshire.

'For seven years now our teams have been working towards the realisation of the event, which after five editions has become a real marker in cycling's spring season.

‘After two back-to-back cancellations due to the Covid-19 pandemic hitting in early 2020, and considering economic factors, some of which result from it, it has been decided by mutual agreement that the Tour de Yorkshire will not be organised in 2022.

'Whatever the case, the Tour de France and ASO will always remain close to Yorkshire because of the fantastic Grand Départ in 2014 and five successful editions of the Tour de Yorkshire, which deserve a follow-up.’

The Tour de Yorkshire was the child of the 2014 Tour de France Grand Départ. The Grand Tour travelled from Leeds to Harrogate and York to Sheffield before heading from Cambridge to London, drawing in over three million spectators over the three stages and £128 million for the UK, according to Welcome Yorkshire.

After realising its success the race became its own event from 2015 to 2019. The men’s edition grew from three stages to four, won by Lars Petter Nordhaug of Team Sky in 2015, Thomas Voeckler of Direct Énergie in 2016, Serge Pauwels of Dimension Data in 2017, Greg van Avermaet of BMC in 2018 and finally Team Ineos’ Chris Lawless in 2019.

The women’s Tour de Yorkshire began as a one-day event and Ikon-Mazda’s British rider Louise Mahé won its inaugural edition in 2015, followed by Kirsten Wild of Team Hitec Products in 2016 and Lizzie Deignan of Boels-Dolmans in 2017.

The race then expanded into two days from 2018, being won by Boels-Dolmans Megan Guarnier and recently CCC-Liv’s Marianne Vos in 2019.