Sign up for our newsletter


Ride London weekend preview

Josh Cunningham
27 Jul 2016

We look ahead to the weekend's racing at Ride London, featuring Tour winner Chris Froome and British national champion Hannah Barnes.

Elite level racing again returns to the UK this weekend for the men's and women's Ride London events, staged across Saturday 30th July and Sunday 31st July on the streets of London and the surrounding hills of Surrey. 

The women's Ride London Classique is centred around The Mall, with a route that also takes in Parliament Square and Trafalgar Square, and a 17:00 start time to follow on from the day's preceding events, the Ride London sportive, family Freecycle ride, and Brompton World Championships. The men's Ride London Classic will depart from St James' park at 13:15 the following day, with a route that goes out into Surrey via both Richmond and Bushy parks, before a series of loops incorporating Leith Hill, Ranmore and Box Hill, and the final run-in back to central London to finish on The Mall around 6pm. 

But while the formats may differ between the men's and women's events, one thing that the organisers can pride themselves on is that the prize fund is equal across both. The 100,000 Euro prize fund for the men's event makes it the richest one day race on the UCI calendar, and with the women's Classique drawing parity also with a 100,000 Euro fund, it too can boast the same title. 

Full startlists have yet to be released for the events, but it is thought that Canyon SRAM's British national champion Hannah Barnes will be present and fighting for victory in the Classique on Saturday alongside some of the world's biggest teams, including Lizzie Armitstead's Boels-Dolmans and Dani King's Wiggle-High5, as well as a Great Britain national composite team. 

The men's startlist is a little clearer, and headlined by recent Tour de France champion Chris Froome and 15th placed Geraint Thomas, who will ride in support of team leader Ben Swift. Joining them on the startlist are fellow Brits Adam Blythe, Dan McLay and Alex Dowsett, who will be riding for a composite GB national team, as well as Steve Cummings of Dimension Data. Etixx-Quickstep's Tom Boonen, last year's winner Jempy Drucker of BMC, and potential winner Michael Matthews of Orica-BikeExchange are all included in the provisional startlist as well. 

Visit for more details. 

Read more about: