Sign up for our newsletter


Video highlights: Coryn Rivera wins women's 2017 Tour of Flanders

It had looked like the winner would come from a lead group of four, but the women's 2017 Tour of Flanders came back together for a sprint

Coryn Rivera (Sunweb) took the win at the women's 2017 Tour of Flanders, winning the bunch sprint from a reduced group.

The American had been in what was left of the chasing peloton until 1km to go, with a strong lead group of four riders away after pushing on up the Paterberg.

The four riders were Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle-High5), Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolman), Katarzyna Niewadoma (WM3 Energie) and Anniemiek Van Vleuten (Orica-Scott), but they were caught as they passed under the flamme rouge.

The sprint was scrappy and spread across the road. Boels-Dolmans had numbers but couldn't push the pace hard enough and Rivera was able to cross the line first.

The win was a huge reward for Sunweb's super-domestique Ellen van Dijk who did much of the chasing and pace making.

Earlier in the day, Rozanne Slik (Sunweb) had been away solo and held a gap of 42 seconds with 38km left to race.

Behind her the pace was ramping up as teams vied for position into the foot of each climb. Silk was brought back and the end game tactics began.

With riders strung out down the road, what had looked like the decisive move, led by Longo Borghini, went away up the Paterberg and it had looked like the winner would come from that group.