Sign up for our newsletter


Spotters' Guide: National Champions riding the 2017 Tour de France

Here are all 21 of the National Champions competing at the 2017 Tour de France

Joseph Delves
30 Jun 2017

With most country's National Championship races now concluded, it looks like 21 recently crowned champions will be bringing their new jerseys with them to the 2017 Tour de France. With winners in both time trial and road race events mandated to wear their national colours, two riders so far have managed to double up.

Britain's Steve Cummings (Dimension Data) and Lithuanian Ignatas Konovalovas (FDJ) both won consecutive road race and time trial events at their respective National Championships.

Of the WorldTour pro teams, BMC Racing and Dimension Data are the squads home to the most National Champions, with six each.

However of BMC’s, only Swiss time trial champ Stefan Küng has had the call up to ride in France this July. By comparison Dimension Data are taking half of their champions.

With a squad including Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) and Cummings (GBr), they’ll be the winningest team heading into the race.

While National Championship jerseys used to be easy to spot within the peloton, it recent years pressure from sponsors has seen the area devoted to the rider’s national colours shrink significantly.

The jersey Team Sunweb presented its Dutch national road race champion Ramon Sinkeldam has already been attracting flack for the stingy amount of space given over to the country's red, white and blue bands.

With the race starting tomorrow, British fans will have to wait until then to see how Dimension Data choose to outfit British double champion Cummings.

Complete list of National Champions in the 2017 Tour de France

Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra)

Oliver Naesen (Bel) - Road race

Astana (Kaz)

Fabio Aru (Ita) - RR

Bahrain-Merida (Bhr)

Tsgabu Grmay (Eth) - Time trial

BMC Racing (USA)

Stefan Küng (Sui) - TT

Bora-Hansgrohe (Ger)

Marcus Burghardt (Ger) - RR
Juraj Sagan (Slo) - RR

Dimension Data (RSA)

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - TT
Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - RR
Stephen Cummings (GBr) - RR and TT

FDJ (Fra)

Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu) - RR and TT
Arnaud Démare (Fra) - RR

Katusha-Alpecin (Sui)

Tony Martin (Ger) - TT

Movistar (Esp)

Jesús Herrada (Esp) - RR
Jonathan Castroviejo (Esp) - TT

Orica-Scott (Aus)

Daryl Impey (RSA) - TT

Quick-Step Floors (Bel)

Zdenek Stybar (Cze) - RR
Jack Bauer (NZL) - TT

Team Sky (GBr)

Sergio Henao (Col) - RR
Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) - TT

Team Sunweb (Ger)

Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) - RR

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Jarlinson Pantano (Col) - TT

Read more about: