Sign up for our newsletter


Chris Froome wins 2017 Tour de France as Dylan Groenewegen wins sprint on Stage 21

Pete Muir
23 Jul 2017

Final stage of the 2017 Tour ends in sprint victory for Groenewegen

LottoNL-Jumbo’s Dylan Groenewegen squeezed ahead of Lotto-Soudal’s Andre Greipel in a scrappy sprint to win the final stage of the 2017 Tour de France on the Champs-Elysees in Paris. Dimension Data’s Edvald Boassen Hagen came in third.

All the main jersey wearers made it safely over the finish line to ensure there were no changes in the overall GC, cementing Chris Froome’s fourth victory at the Tour de France.

The final stage of the Tour is largely ceremonial, and the peloton arrived in Paris all together, but once they started on the laps around central Paris, the attacks came thick and fast to make it a true race.

A group of nine, including Daryl Impey (Orica-Scott) and Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) eventually broke away and managed to maintain a lead of between 20 seconds for several laps.

With some of the biggest names in sprinting out of the race – including Marcel Kittel, Mark Cavendish, Arnaud Demare and Peter Sagan – several teams fancied their chances for the stage win, so the break was never allowed to get far enough ahead to prevent the bunch sprint.

In the final few kilometres the pace was so high that teams found it hard to establish their sprint trains, but eventually Groenewegen managed to get into the perfect position and proved to be the strongest man on the day.

As for the rest of the race, it was the usual slow procession to Paris, with all the traditional back-slapping, champagne-sipping and gurning for the cameras. The victorious Team Sky were resplendent in new jerseys with a yellow stripe down the back, replacing the usual blue, and Froome waved politely to the French crowds who responded positively by not booing as much as usual.

After 3,540km of racing, Froome came home 54 seconds ahead of Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) in second place, and 2 minutes 20 seconds ahead of France’s Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondial), who clung on to third place by one second from Team Sky’s Mikel Landa.

Team Sunweb’s Michael Matthews took the green jersey – a worthy winner despite the abandonment of Marcel Kittel (Quick-Step Floors), who won five sprint stages and looked to be a dead-cert for the points win before crashing out on Stage 17.

The white jersey for best young rider went to Britain’s Simon Yates (Orica-Scott), who held it from Stage 5. That makes two white jerseys for the Yates household, after his twin brother, Adam, won it at last year’s Tour de France.

The climbers’ polka dot jersey was won by France’s Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb), who also controversially won the combativity award, much to the frustration of Lotto-Soudal’s Thomas De Gendt, who complained that he had attacked in breakaways far more than any other rider.

The team classification naturally went to Team Sky, who controlled the race from start to finish and only relinquished the yellow jersey for two days, when Astana’s Fabio Aru held it on Stages 12 and 13. One disappointment for Sky was that Geraint Thomas, who wore yellow for four stages at the start of the race, wasn’t with the team to celebrate its ultimate victory. He crashed out during a fast descent on Stage 9 and broke his collarbone.

The big losers of this year’s Tour include BMC, who failed to win a stage and whose team leader, Richie Porte, crashed heavily on Stage 9. Movistar had an equally disastrous Tour, with Alejandro Valverde crashing out on the very first stage, and team leader Nairo Quintana failing to live up to expectations, plainly exhausted after the Giro d’Italia.

It now only remains to be seen whether Froome can prove more resilient than Quintana by attempting his own double with a win at the Vuelta Espana.

Tour de France 2017: Stage 21, Montgeron – Paris Champs-Élysées (103km), result

1. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, in 2-25-39
2. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal, at same time
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data, st
4. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, st
5. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin, st
6. Borut Bozic (Slo) Bahrain-Merida, st
7. Davide Cimolai (Ita) FDJ, st
8. Pierre Luc Perichon (Fra) Fortuneo–Oscaro, st
9. Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe, st
10. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar, st

Tour de France 2017: Final general classification top 10 

1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky, 86-20-55
2. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac, at 0:54 
3. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, at 2:20
4. Mikel Landa (Esp) Team Sky, at 2:21
5. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, at 3:05
6. Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors, at 4:42
7. Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott, at 6:14
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) UAE Team Emirates, at 8:20
9. Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo, at 8:49
10. Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb, at 9:25