Sign up for our newsletter


Watch: Dylan Groenewegen takes his first Tour de France stage on the Champs-Elysees (video highlights)

Pete Muir
23 Jul 2017

Dylan Groenewegen wins final sprint on Champs-Elysees

After 21 stages and 3,540km of racing, Team Sky’s Chris Froome was finally crowned victor of the 2017 Tour de France. With four wins under his belt, he overtakes Greg LeMond for the number of Tour victories, and is one away from joining the greats such as Eddy Merckx, Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain.

Froome came home 54 seconds ahead of Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) in second place, and 2 minutes 20 seconds ahead of France’s Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale), who clung on to third place by one second from Team Sky’s Mikel Landa.

The final stage in Paris was won by LottoNL-Jumbo’s Dylan Groenewegen, who edged out Lotto-Soudal’s Andre Greipel in the sprint. Dimension Data’s Edvald Boassen Hagen came in third.

After winning the Giro d’Italia with Tom Dumoulin, Team Sunweb had an equally impressive Tour de France, with Michael Matthews taking the green points jersey and Warren Barguil winning the polka dot King of the Mountains jersey.

The white jersey for best young rider went to Britain’s Simon Yates (Orica-Scott), making it two wins in a row for the Yates family. Simon’s twin brother, Adam, won the white jersey at last year’s Tour de France.

Team Sky won the team classification, having controlled the race from start to finish and held onto the yellow jersey for all but two days of the Tour.