Sign up for our newsletter


Klas Johansson is crowned World Bike Packing Champion

Klas Johansson wins the World Bike Packing Championship
Craig Cunningham
28 Jul 2015

MTN-Qhubeka team mechanic follows Daniel Teklehaimanot and Steve Cummings into the limelight.

If you are trying to fill the adrenaline-fuelled void that Chris Froome and co has left then feast your eyes on the World Bike Packing Championship 2015. 

Set up by Scicon to promote their Aerocomfort 2.0 pro team bike bag, the competition sees qualified team mechanics pit themselves against the clock in an attempt to pack a team bike the quickest. Eight mechanics competed for the incredibly prestigious award but Klas Johansson of MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung came out on top with an impressive time of 03:13, besting 2nd place Brit, James Griffin of Cannondale-Garmin, by 14 seconds.

The contest was only open to qualified team mechanics who were timed under strict supervision and it was only over when the bag was fully packed with all zippers and straps done up.

Rules stated that for every mistake there was a 10 second penalty but Johansson’s error free effort saw him rise to the top. In what has been a bumper year for the African team, they will no doubt be absolutely chuffed with their latest accolade after seeing Eritrean rider, Teklehaimanot, hold the polka dot jersey from Stage 6 to 9 and Cummings win on Stage 14 in the Tour de France.

The team will hope to build on these successes as they look to prepare for the Vuelta a Espana, the last grand tour of the year which starts next month.

Read more about: