Sign up for our newsletter


Team GB confirm longlist for World Championships

Joe Robinson
4 Sep 2017

Chris Froome and Lizzie Deignan named in longlists for World Championships in Norway

Team GB confirmed their longlist for this month's World Championships in Bergen, Norway with Mark Cavendish and Chris Froome names in the elite men list and Elizabeth Deignan and Hannah Barnes amongst the women named. 

Froome will be expected to take on the elite men's time-trial after having completed the Vuelta a Espana, which he currently leads. Although only 31km in length, the final 3.4km are uphill averaging 9.1%, lending itself to the capabilities of Froome. 

The road course is expected to suit classic specialist due to the 1.4km climb preceding a flat finish. This finish has led to Deignan being amongst the favourites in the elite women's race, as she attempts to take her second rainbow jersey. 

Deignan should have the support of both Barnes sisters, Hannah and Alice as well as Dani King. Both Hannah and Alice could also feature for the win if the peloton comes to the line for a bunch sprint. 

For the men's road race, Team GB will be able to play a number of cards dependent on how the race pans out. Cavendish and Ben Swift will be able to offer sprinting options whilst Steve Cummings and Geraint Thomas could be deployed from further out.

One of Team GB's biggest hopes for rainbow in Norway could come from the junior men's road race. Amongst the longlist is 18-year-old Tom Pidcock, current junior cyclocross world champion and national elite men's criterium champion. 

With parcour suited to a classics specialist, Pidcock will be hoping to add this junior world title to his rich palmares.

Team GB head coach Iain Dyer believes that each team has options for a multitude of outcomes and realises that the teams are far from being finalised.

'The nature of the road race course, which includes a 1.4km climb before the flat finish, is likely to make the racing tactical, so I’m pleased to see we have the depth within the squads to give us options depending on how the racing plays out.' he said

'We still have some important races on the road competition calendar to come before the world championships, so we will be monitoring these closely and will be in a position to finalise and announce the confirmed line-up for the road race and time trial events for each category in due course.'

Elite men (9 riders in the road race; 2 riders in the time trial)

Adam Blythe
Mark Cavendish
Mark Christian
Steve Cummings
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Chris Froome
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Pete Kennaugh
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Scott Thwaites
Geraint Thomas

Elite women (7 riders in the road race; 2 riders in the time trial)

Elinor Barker
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Anna Christian
Lizzie Deignan
Dani King
Mel Lowther
Abby Mae Parkinson
Claire Rose
Hayley Simmonds
Abigail van Twisk

Under-23 men (6 riders in the road race; 2 riders in the time trial)

Matt Bostock
Scott Davies
Ethan Hayter
Jacob Hennessy
James Knox
Chris Lawless
James Shaw
Mark Stewart
Ollie Wood

Junior men (5 riders in the road race; 2 riders in the time trial)

Mark Donovan
Tom Pidcock
Jake Stewart
Jacob Vaughan
Fred Wright

Junior women (5 riders in the road race; 2 riders in the time trial)

Rhona Callender
Lauren Dolan
Pfeifer Georgi
Jessica Roberts
Sophie Wright