Sign up for our newsletter


Tour of Britain 2017: Groenewegen holds off Ewan to win Stage 7

Martin James
9 Sep 2017

Lotto-NL Jumbo fast man first over the line, teammate Boom retains overall lead

Lotto-NL Jumbo's Dylan Groenewegen produced a powerful sprint finish to win Stage 7 of the 2017 Tour of Britain in Cheltenham, just holding off Orica-Scott's Caleb Ewan to deny the Australian a fourth stage win of the race.

Groenewegen hit the front a long way from the line, and Ewan had looked perfectly place to jump off his wheel in the final moments, but the Dutchman stayed strong to win by half a wheel's length.

Another Australian, JLT Condor's Brenton Jones, was third ahead of Katusha-Alpecin sprinter Alexander Kristoff.

The 186km stage from Hemel Hempstead took the field across four counties, and the terrain became steadily more lumpy as the stage went on culminating with the 2nd category climb of Cleeve Hill just 10km from the line.

But despite the best efforts of a number of riders and groups to get away in the wet and miserable conditions, the field came back together in plenty of time for the sprinters to get their trains in place ready for the assault on the finish line.

And having already taken a second, a third and a fourth place finish this year Groenewegen finally get to savouer the spoils of victory.

Groenewegen's Lotto-NL Jumbo teammate Lars Boom continues to lead the race overall, eight seconds ahead of BMC's Stefan Kung, with another Lotto-NL Jumbo teammare, Victor Campanaerts, a further second down in third.

The 2017 Tour of Britain finishes tomorrow with a 180km stage from Worcester to Cardiff.

Tour of Britain Stage 7: Hemel Hemstead - Cheltenham, 185.1km, result

1. Dylan Groenewegen (NED) LottoNL-Jumbo, 4:26:58
2. Caleb Ewan (AUS) Orica-Scott, at same time 
3. Brenton Jones (NZL) JLT Condor, at st
4. Alexander Kristoff (NOR) Katusha-Alpecin, at st 
5. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) Wanty-Groupe Gobert, at st
6. Daniele Bennati (ITA) Movistar, at st 
7. Fernando Gaviria (COL) Quick-Step Floors, at st
8. Nikolas Mas (BEL) Lotto-Soudal, at st
9. Floris Gerts (NED) BMC Racing, at st
10. Vincenzo Albanese (ITA) Bardiani-CSF, at st 

Tour of Britain General Classification after Stage 7

1. Lars Boom (NED) LottoNL-Jumbo, at 26:37:28
2. Stefan Kung (SUI) BMC Racing, at 0:08
3. Victor Campenaerts (BEL) LottoNL-Jumbo, at 0:09
4. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR) Team Sky, at 0:10
5. Jos Van Emden (NED) LottoNL-Jumbo, at 0:14
6. Tony Martin (GER) Katusha-Alpecin, at 0:15
7. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) Team Sky, at 0:20
8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Dimension Data, at same time
9. Geraint Thomas (GBR) Team Sky, at st
10. Ryan Mullen (IRL) Cannondale-Drapac, at 0:28

Read more about: