Sign up for our newsletter


Chris Froome selected as Team GB confirm World Championships squad

The men's, women's and junior teams have been confirmed by British Cycling

Jack Elton-Walters
12 Sep 2017

Fresh from his historic double - winning the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana in the same season - Chris Froome has been named as part of the Team GB squad for the World Championships in Bergen, Norway later this month.

Froome will line up in the Men's Elite Individual Time Trial on a course that the organisers say is 'perfect' for the British rider.

The chances of Froome coming away with the rainbow bands will depend as much on how well he recovers from his heavy racing schedule as what happens on the day.

Riding two consecutive Grand Tours could take its toll or he could recover sufficiently to perform.

The other ITT slot will be filled by National Champion Steve Cummings, whose strengths are also suited to the rolling course that ends with a steep, winding climb.

Leading the charge for the British women are Hannah Barnes and former World Champion Lizzie Deignan in the road race.

Barnes will double up by riding the ITT along with Elinor Barker.

Rising star Tom Pidcock has been selected for both the road and time trial events in the Junior category; races that fall shortly before his professional cyclocross debut.

World Championships 2017: Team GB

Men's Individual Time Trial

Steve Cummings
Chris Froome

Men's Road Race

Adam Blythe
Mark Christian
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Pete Kennaugh
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Scott Thwaites

Women's Individual Time Trial

Elinor Barker
Hannah Barnes

Women's Road Race

Elinor Barker
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Lizzie Deignan
Dani King
Mel Lowther
Hayley Simmonds

U23 Men's ITT

Scott Davies
Chris Lawless

U23 Men's Road Race

Scott Davies
Ethan Hayter
James Knox
Chris Lawless
Mark Stewart
Ollie Wood

Junior Men's ITT

Tom Pidcock
Fred Wright

Junior Men's Road Race

Mark Donovan
Tom Pidcock
Jake Stewart
Jacob Vaughan
Fred Wright

Junior Women's ITT

Lauren Dolan
Pfeifer Georgi

Junior Women's Road Race

Rhona Callender
Lauren Dolan
Pfeifer Georgi
Jessica Roberts
Sophie Wright