Sign up for our newsletter


World Championships: Tom Dumoulin wins Individual Time Trial

Joe Robinson
20 Sep 2017

Tom Dumoulin takes the men's Individual Time Trial, Chris Froome takes third

Tom Dumoulin has won the Individual Time Trial World Championships in Bergen, Norway beating Primoz Roglic into second.

The victory is the first rainbow jersey for Dumoulin who looked strong throughout the race. This will be added to the team time trial he won last weekend with Team Sunweb.

Despite the late rain, Dumoulin was able to weather the storm and take the title thanks to a strong ride across the whole course, almost catching Chris Froome.

Dumoulin's victory secures double success for the Netherlands after Annemiek van Vleuten took yesterday's womens event. 

This victory makes the Dutchman the fifth rider in history to win the individual time trial title and a Grand Tour in the same season, after victory in the Giro d'Italia in May.

Today's tale

The talk before the men's 31km individual time trial surrounded solely around the ascent of Mount Floyen as the end of the course. 

The 3.4km climb was sure to provide a sting in the tail with its average gradient of 9.1% and rumoured maximum gradients of up to 18%. 

Much of the discussion around this centred on whether riders would risk a bike swap for their lighter road bike at the foot or the climb or tackle the hill on their heavier TT rig. 

In preparation for this, the UCI had decided to roll out a red 20m carpet specifically for riders to take their bike swap on. This would be the only point in which riders would be allowed to change over. 

It was at that this point in which we were treated to our first bit of light relief for the day. As many predicted, Alexey Lutsenko attempted the swap, only to make hash of it, almost stumbling off his road bike.

Others decided to forgo the change, tackling the incline on their time trial bike. Amongst these was Jan Tratnik of Slovenia who set one of the early benchmarks with a time of 46:24:45.

This was then beaten by Wilco Kelderman, who interestingly did opt for a bike change. The young Dutch rider showed that he could carry the good form from his impressive performance at this year's Vuelta a Espana.

This time was then bettered in short succession by riders who stayed on their time trial bikes. Team Sky pair Vasil Kiryenka and Gianni Moscon set better times with Nelson Oliveira.

Despite a fast start, pre-race favourite Rohan Dennis came down in the rain, losing vital time before the climb of Mount Floyen. This followed the bad luck he had at last year's Olympics, snapping the aero bars off of his bike whilst in the lead. 

For the big hitters, the decision to swap bikes was ignored with more riders deciding to climb on the heavier, time trial bike.

World Championships Elite Men's Time Trial: Results

1. Tom Dumoulin (NED), at 44:41:00
2. Primoz Roglic (SLO), at 0:57
3. Chris Froome (GBR), at 1:21
4. Nelson Oliveira (POR), at 1:28
5. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR), at 1:28
6. Gianni Moscon (ITA), at 1:29
7. Wilco Kelderman (NED), at 1:34
8. Rohan Dennis (AUS), at 1:37
9. Tony Martin (GER), at 1:39
10. Jan Tratnik (SLO), at 1:43