Sign up for our newsletter


The 2017 professional cycling season in numbers

Joe Robinson
25 Oct 2017

A breakdown of all the facts and figures of the 2017 season

With the 2017 season now behind us, Cyclist has taken a look at the facts and figures of the year. No surprises for guessing which team had the most wins this year when yet again Quick-Step Floors dominated, in large part thanks to commanding sprinting duo Marcel Kittel and Fernando Gaviria, who took 14 wins apiece.

The pair also enjoyed 12 of their teammates taking victories throughout the season.

Pello Bilbao (Astana) joined Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates) as the riders with the most racedays, clocking up 95 days in competition for 2017.

With the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana amongst their spoils, Team Sky also figure heavily, sharing their 34 race wins across 13 of their roster.

Most individual wins

First and foremost is a look at which rider took the most victories this season. It is of no surprise that German powerhouse Kittel joins teammate Gaviria on the top step, both managing to sprint to 14 wins throughout the year.

Gaviria's four Giro d'Italia stages and Kittel's five Tour de France stages helped the sprinting duo stand above their rivals throughout the year.

Thanks to this Grand Tour success, the Quick-Step Floors duo were able to edge out World Champion Peter Sagan who could only manage 12 wins.

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) sits fourth on the list with eleven wins despite having not raced since crashing out on Stage 1 of the Tour in July.

Injury, illness and bad luck prevented Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) from taking his usual spot in the top five.

With only one win this year, Cavendish produced his least successful season since 2006.

1. Fernando Gaviria (COL), Quick-Step Floors - 14
2. Marcel Kittel (GER), Quick-Step Floors - 14
3. Peter Sagan (SLV), Bora-Hansgrohe - 12
4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP), Movistar Team - 11
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR), Dimension Data - 10

Most team wins

With 16 Grand Tour stage victories, the Tour of Flanders and a handful of semi-classics means that the only team topping this list is Quick-Step Floors.

You have to go all the way back to 2012 to find a year in which Patrick Lefevere's men haven't been on top of the pile.

The clinical nature of this team is outstanding and the entire squads seems to chip in to the tally. 

The Belgian WorldTour team can also boast a podium finish at each of the five Monuments this year. It is hard to believe that with this success that the team were struggling to find sponsors for next season.

1. Quick-Step Floors (BEL) - 56
2. BMC Racing (USA) - 48
3. Team Sky (GBR) - 34
4. Bora-Hansgrohe (GER) - 33
5.Movistar (ESP) - 31

Most wins provided by different riders

Alongside their impressive tally of wins, Quick-Step Floors also produced the most different winners in their team, with 14 of the roster taking a victory in 2017.

Whilst large numbers of wins were provided by the likes of Kittel, Gaviria and Matteo Trentin the boys from Belgium had riders chip in to the tally from everywhere.

Team Sky were hot on their heels in second, with 13 riders managing wins this season, in what was a dominant year taking the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana as well as smaller victories like Jonathan Dibben's time trial success at the Tour of California.

1. Quick-Step Floors (BEL) - 14
2. Team Sky (GBR) - 13
3. BMC Racing (USA) - 13
4. Orica-Scott (AUS) - 12
5. AG2R La Mondiale (FRA) - 12

Most racedays

The award for the hardest working man in cycling goes to Pello Bilbao (Astana). The Spaniard managed to clock up 95 days racing his bike this season, beating Maxim Belkov (Katusha-Alpecin) by only one day.

With almost 100 days of racing, Bilbao spent over 26% of 2017 racing his bike. His season started at the Volta a Valencia in February and ended at the last Monument of the year, Il Lombardia.

If you were wondering, the last rider to race 100 days in a year was Matijn Keizer for LottoNL-Jumbo back in 2015.

1. Pello Bilbao (ESP), Astana - 95
2. Matej Mohoric (SLO), UAE Team Emirates - 95
3. Maxim Belkov (RUS), Katusha-Alpecin - 94
4. Koen De Kort (NED), Trek-Segafredo - 94
5. Thomas de Gendt (BEL), Lotto Soudal - 92

Most kilometres raced

Despite more racedays than anybody else, Bilbao did not race the most kilometres in 2017. That accolade fell to Belgian Frederik Backaert (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), who covered 15,658km over 92 race days.

Backaert managed to beat Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates) despite Mohoric racing the inaugural six stage Tour of Guangxi.

Backeart was also joined by teammate Andrea Pasqualon in the top five, with both combining to cover over 30,000km throughout the season.

Both riders managed to individually clock over 15,000km for the entire season. To put that into perspective, it's the distance from Tokyo to New York via London.

1. Frederik Backaert (BEL), Wanty-Groupe Gobert - 15,658km
2. Matej Mohoric (SLO), UAE Team Emirates - 15,369km
3. Koen De Kort (NED), Trek-Segafredo - 15,315km
4. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA), Wanty-Groupe Gobert - 15,284km
5. Oliver Naesen (BEL), AG2R La Mondiale - 15,233km

Longest single day of racing (WorldTour)

Milano-San Remo - 291km

Shortest single day of racing (WorldTour)

Tour de Suisse Stage 1, Cham to Cham - 6km (ITT)