Sign up for our newsletter


Madison Genesis announce 2018 team with five new riders

Joe Robinson
30 Oct 2017

Madison Genesis confirm their 12-man roster for 2018 with five new signings

Madison Genesis have announced their 2018 roster of 12 riders, with the team bringing in five new signings for next season, but also saying goodbye to five departing riders. 

New to the team will be former British National Age-Grade Road Champion George Atkins and Mike Cuming.

Atkins was previously junior National Champion before taking national track titles as well as a silver medal in the Commonwealth Games.

Cuming managed to become U23 National Champion in 2012 with the Tour of Korea also in his palmares.

Madison Genesis have also managed to sign mountain bike talent Isaac Mundy. After competing on the World Cup mountain bike circuit, Mundy moved over to the road jumping from a fourth category licence holder to first category in one season.

Australian sprinter Neil van der Ploeg and young British rider George Pym complete the new signings for the team, who will be racing under new team manager Coin Sturgess.

Departing from the team will be Matt Cronshaw, Gruff Lewis, Alex Pation, Alex Blain and Joe Evans. Cronshaw and Blain will be particularly missed considering their experience racing on the British scene.

The team will retain Matt Holmes after his impressive fifth at the Tour de Yorkshire and Erik Rowsell who continues his long return from injury.

New team manger Sturgess was keen to emphasise that the team will not start their season with a team leader.

'We start with no one designated "leader", but a group of "leaders" throwing open many options,' he said. 'We have climbers, we have sprinters, we have rouleurs, we have guys that can ride a fast TT, can win criteriums.'

'Every single rider on this team can and will win bike races, and as I’ve said previously I like to see guys win with professionalism and panache.'

Madison Genesis 2018 team roster

George Atkins
Mike Cuming
Taylor Gunman
Rich Handley
Matt Holmes
Tobyn Horton
Johnny McEvoy
Isaac Mundy
Neil van der Ploeg
George Pym
Erick Rowsell
Connor Swift

Read more about: