Sign up for our newsletter


UCI confirms WorldTour and ProContinental teams for 2018

Joe Robinson
11 Dec 2017

Aqua Blue Sport's place in ProContinental ranks still under review by the Licence Commission

The UCI confirmed which teams will be racing in the WorldTour and ProContinental ranks in 2018, announcing that Aqua Blue Sport's place in cycling's second tier is still under review.

The Irish-based team has found its application still under review by the UCI Licence Commission with an announcement expected to be made 'in due course'.

When contacted by Cyclist, a spokesperson for that team confirmed that this was a result of a 'clerical error' and 'should thankfully be sorted very soon'.

The team then later explained this issue in an official press release.

'Aqua Blue Sport continue to work closely with the Licence Commission to ensure all criteria for attribution are fulfilled according to UCI Regulations and until that process is complete will be making no additional comment,' the released read.

'In the meantime, our management, staff and riders continue focused on preparations for the 2018 season and look forward to clarifying this matter promptly.'

It is expected that Aqua Blue Sport's place in the ProContinental ranks will be accepted in due course after confirming the addition of various co-sponsors for 2018 including sport glasses giants Oakley and Dutch beer brand Oranjeboom.

In regards of the WorldTour, it is business as usual with all 18 teams carrying over from 2017. All teams were approved by the UCI except EF-Drapac, Lotto Soudal, Quick-Step Floors and UAE-Team Emirates who had their applications confirmed by the Licence Commission.

For the ProContinental ranks, six new teams were granted a licence with three American sides making the the step up.

WorldTour teams 2018

AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)
Astana (KAZ)
BMC Racing (USA)
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
Dimension Data (RSA)
Movistar (ESP)
Mitchelton-Scott (AUS)
Bahrain-Merida (BRN)
Katusha-Alpecin (SUI)
LottoNL-Jumbo (NED)
Team Sky (GBR)
Team Sunweb (GER)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
EF-Drapac (USA)
Lotto Soudal (BEL)
Quick-Step Floors (BEL)
UAE-Team Emirates (UAE)

ProContinental 2018

Androni Giocattoli–Sidermec (ITA)
Bardiani CSF (ITA)
Caja Rural-Serguros RGA (ESP)
Cofidis (FRA)
Delko Marseille Provence KTM (FRA)
Pro Cycling Breizh (Fortuneo-Oscaro) (FRA)
Gazprom-Rusvelo (RUS)
Manzana Postobon (COL)
Nippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini(ITA)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)
Novo Nordisk (USA)
UnitedHealthCare pro cycling team (USA)
Veranda's Willems Crelan(BEL)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (BEL)
WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic (BEL)
Burgos BH (ESP)
Euskadi Basque Country-Murias (ESP)
Hagens Berman Axeon (USA)
Holowesko | Citadel P/B Arapahoe Resources (USA)
Rally Cycling (USA)
Vital Concept Club (FRA)
CCC Sprandi Polkowice (POL)
Direct Energie (FRA)
Israel Cycling Academy (ISR)
Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij (NED)
Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia(ITA)

Read more about: