Sign up for our newsletter


Canyon-SRAM complete 2018 roster with latest Zwift Academy winner

Jack Elton-Walters
15 Dec 2017

Women's WorldTour team add final rider with selection from the Zwift Academy

Canyon-SRAM have completed their racing roster for the 2018 season with the addition of the latest winner of the Zwift Academy. Tanja Erath is the second rider to be awarded a professional contract with the women's team as a result of winning the online racing competition.

The German follows in the tyre marks of the 2016 winner, Leah Thorvilson, who will again ride with the team next season.

Erath is a former triathlete and criterium racer from Dortmund and was crowned the winner after four months of racing - online and in the real world. She saw off 2,100 other women to take the spot on the Canyon-SRAM team.

'I started this confident in my skills as a cyclist and a racer, but had no idea it would end with me here in Koblenz with a WorldTour schedule ahead of me,' Erath said at the team's recent training camp.

'It’s been such a journey and I’m humbled by the talent I’ve been up against,' she added.

This new way of finding talent has also filtered into men's racing, with a rider recently added to the Dimension Data ranks. New Zealander Ollie Jones will now train and race with the WorldTour team's U23 feeder squad.

Ronny Lauke, Canyon-SRAM team manager, commented on this new way of finding riders, saying 'We took a chance with the Zwift Academy last year and we’re very happy with what it brought to our team.

'Leah is a great addition and, seeing Tanja’s dedication, drive, and strength only reminds us we’ve got a great programme here to bring talent into the women’s peloton.'

Canyon-SRAM 2018 roster

Alena Amialiusik
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Elena Cecchini
Tiffany Cromwell
Tanja Erath
Pauline Ferrand-Prévot
Lisa Klein
Kasia Niewiadoma
Christa Riffel
Alexis Ryan
Leah Thorvilson
Trixi Worrack

Read more about: