Sign up for our newsletter


Tom Pidcock headlines new raft of Team Wiggins riders

Joe Robinson
20 Dec 2017

Junior Cyclocross World Champion Tom Pidcock signs with Team Wiggins for road season

Junior cyclocross World Champion Tom Pidcock has signed with development side Team Wiggins for the 2018 road season.

The 18-year-old will race for the British based under-23 team which was founded and named after Tour de France winner and five-time Olympic gold medalist Bradley Wiggins.

Pidcock has currently been racing cyclocross on the continent for the Telenet-Fidea Lions team managed by Sven Nys, however was allowed to sign a dual-contract with a road team.

It is expected that Pidcock will turn towards the road once the cyclocross season draws to a finish in early 2018 with a view to defending his Junior Paris-Roubaix title and national criterium crown.

Having won the Junior time trial World Championships in September, Pidcock added to what has been a remarkable 12 months with victory in his first U23 cyclocross World Cup race. This was followed by ninth in a men's elite race that same month.

This has made all Pidcock one of the most desired young riders in the World and his signing will hopefully help propel Team Wiggins's success on the national circuit. 

Beyond Pidcock, the team announced their full 18 man roster for the 2018 season including six international riders.

Wiggins himself commented on the 2018 squad and his ambition for the team to grow into cycling's next generation.

'Team Wiggins has exceeded all expectations to date, and the 2018 crop of under 23 riders looks as exciting as ever,' said Sir Bradley.

'We had our first team get together with physiological testing last week where it was great to meet the team and talk through the 2018 plans. This is the next generation of cycling heroes, and I hope Team Wiggins will inspire more and more people to ride bikes.'

Team Wiggins 2018 roster

Tom Pidcock (GBR)
Gabirel Cullaigh (GBR)
Joey Walker (GBR)
Nathan Draper (GBR)
Oliver Robinson (GBR)
Jacques Sauvagnargues (GBR)
Dylan Robson (GBR)
Etienne Georgi (GBR)
Rob Scott (GBR)
Jesse Yates (GBR)
Mark Donovan (GBR)
Mark Downey (IRL)
Matthew Teggart (IRL)
Michael O'Loughlin (IRL)
Corentin Navarro (FRA)
James Fouche (NZL)
CAmpbell Stewart (NZL)