Sign up for our newsletter


Watch: Yves Lampaert wins a rain-soaked Dwars door Vlaanderen

Joe Robinson
28 Mar 2018

Lampaert attacks in final 500m from a small group of five riders to take second consecutive victory

Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) wins a wet Dwars door Vlaanderen from a small group of five escapees after attacking in the last 500m. The group escaped with 20km remaining and managed to ride through to the line. Lampaert caught out his fellow riders and eventually crossed the line alone.

Mike Teunissen (Team Sunweb) sprinted to second with Sep Vanmarcke (EF Drapac) came in third.

This was Lampaert's second victory at Dwars door Vlaanderen after winning the race last year.

What happened where at the 2018 Dwars door Vlaanderen?

The weather in Flanders was miserable meaning the peloton got underway in a barrage of rain as they rolled out of the Roselare town centre.

The race started fast with 40km passing without a breakaway managing to escape. Riders, including the veteran Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) tried in vain to escape but nothing was sticking.

Luke Rowe (Team Sky) was then next to try his luck after further furious racing but never managed to gain a gap larger than a minute, eventually being reabsorbed.

It wasn't until 120km in to the race that things began to liven up. Iljo Keisse (Quick-Step Floors) increased the lead group's pace splitting the bunch in quite simply atrocious weather conditions.

He was then joined by a determined Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin) and Jurgen Roetlands (BMC Racing).

The rain splatter began to cover the peloton's faces in mud resulting in some stunning images. Martin's lip drooped as he pushed on from Keisse and Roelandts with 60km remaining.

The work of Martin saw the main peloton thin immediately with around 40 riders making up the main chase group. This work was then undone when Martin crashed on a cobbled corner.

As the lead group hit the Taaienberg, Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors) launched a bid for glory on the climb. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) then took chase as Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) rolled to the front for the first time.

Cycling fans will have been pleased to see 2015 Paris-Roubaix winner John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) attacking off the front with 43km to go. This produced a reaction from Valverde, Van Avermaet and eventual winner Lampaert among others.

Never one to shy from an attack, Valverde rolled the dice bringing Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) and Martin with him. This strung out a group of favourites which contained 11 riders.

The biggest losers appeared to be LottoNL-Jumbo who flocked in mass to take chase.

Next to show their strength was Benoot bringing Van Avermaet with him. Relishing the wet weather, the young Belgian put on the hurt as the peloton snaked through the narrow Flemish lanes.

Looking like a throwback to yesteryear, Benoot's lack of rain cape and gloves was a stark contrast to the many layers of Van Avermaet.

Both rolled through 31km to go with a 12 second gap on a select group of pursuers.

The wet cobbles caused difficulty for all with 25km left. While Benoot and Van Avermaet continued to wield their hammer, Quick-Step Floors managed to launch a succesful chase with Lampaert and Niki Terpstra.

With 20km remaining the hurt began to show as a lead group of Lampaert, Sep Vanmarcke, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Mads Pedersen and Mike Theunissen emerged.

The final climb of the day, the Nokereberg, saw no splits in the lead group yet behind Van Avermaet struck out to bridge across to the leading five.

Despite his best efforts, Van Avermaet couldn't dent the margin as the lead group hit the final section of cobbles.

The front five began to attack one another within the final 4km as they rolled in to home.