Advertisement

Sign up for our newsletter

Advertisement

Ned Boulting to tour new one-man stage show, Tour de Ned

Joe Robinson
18 May 2018

The cycling commentator to return to the stage 21-date show

ITV cycling commentator Ned Boulting has announced his return to the stages of the United Kingdom with his latest one-man show, Tour de Ned.

Across twenty-one nights this Autumn, Boulting will dissect the 2018 Tour de France, warts and all, reliving the best and worst moments of the race in a theatrical manner while also digressing to a few rants, anecdotes and a bit music along the way. 

This year's Tour should present plenty of drama along the way as the peloton heads the cobbles of northern France, peaks of the Alps and lights of Paris for the 105th time in its history.

Boulting will also let us in to the unorganised and motorway service station-filled world of commentary with exclusive video footage of his time with the ITV commentary team, David Millar, Gary Imlach and Chris Boardman. 

This new show follows on for the two season success of Boulting's first crack at the theatre, Bikeology, which sold over 20,000 tickets and even featured at the Edinburgh Festival.

The tour will start at the Nuffield Theatre Campus in Southampton on Friday 28th September before finishing on Saturday 17th November at the Lincoln Theatre Royal. Further dates can be found and tickets can be bought from nedboulting.com.

Speaking on the new tour, Boulting spoke of his excitement to get this humorous assessment of the Tour de France on the road.

'Tour de Ned is the living proof, based on the fact people keep showing up, that you can create a theatrical show relating to cycling,' said Boulting.

'Whether you’re cycling mad, like cycling a bit, or accidentally booked the wrong tickets thinking I was somebody else, you’re in for an experience worthy of the world’s most bonkers sporting event.'

Tour de Ned dates

Friday 28th September - SOUTHAMPTON Nuffield Theatre Campus
Thursday 4th October - EXETER Corn Exchange
Friday 5th October - BRISTOL Anson Rooms
Tuesday 9th October - SWINDON Wyvern Theatre
Thursday 11th October - MELTON Theatre
Friday 12th October - RICHMOND Theatre
Monday 15th October - LEEDS City Varieties Music Hall
Tuesday 16th October - LEAMINGTON SPA Royal Spa Centre
Sunday 21st October - EDINBURGH Assembly Roxy
Monday 22nd October - ARBROATH The Webster Theatre
Monday 29th October - HIGH WYCOMBE Wycombe Swan
Tuesday 30th October - HERTFORD Theatre
Wednesday 31st October - STAMFORD Corn Exchange
Thursday 1st November - NEWBURY Corn Exchange
Sunday 4th November - CLECKHEATON Town Hall
Tuesday 6th November - ILKLEY King's Hall
Wednesday 7th November - PRESTON Charter Theatre
Friday 9th November - SOUTHPORT The Atkinson
Thursday 15th November - WHITLEY BAY Playhouse
Friday 16th November - SCARBOROUGH Spa Theatre
Saturday 17th November - LINCOLN Theatre Royal

Read more about: