Sign up for our newsletter


Lizzie Deignan to lead new Trek women's WorldTour team

The team will be built around former world champion Lizzie Deignan who is the team’s first signing.

Bicycle manufacturer Trek has announced a new women’s professional road team for the 2019 season with the intention of riding in the UCI Women’s WorldTour. 

British rider Lizzie Deignan has been confirmed as Trek’s first signing and will lead the team next year, once she returns to competition having sat out this season for the birth of her first child. She will move across from leading team Boels-Dolmans.

On the move, Deignan has expressed her delight saying she’s 'thrilled' to sign as, 'the goals of the team perfectly align with my personal and professional goals'.

A second rainbow jersey on home roads in Yorkshire will be a major target for Deignan’s return season with Trek as she looks to add to her first world championships from 2015. It is expected that Deignan will return to training as of December.

Rumoured to be joining Deignan are the likes of Elisa Longon Borghini (Wiggle-High5) and Ellen van Dijk (Team Sunweb).

Trek President John Burke has heralded the announcement of the women’s team by reaffirming the company’s commitment to 'changing the world by inspiring people to ride'.

Burke also announced the company will be, 'putting full support behind our athletes so they can focus on their profession and be the best they can be'.

This commitment comes with the confirmation of a dedicated director sportif, assistant director sportif, and support staff as well as shared support from the Trek-Segafredo men’s team staff. 

While this move is good for some, it will be bad for Trek-Drops, the small British-based team. With Trek's decision to foot the bill for an entirely new team, the current Trek-Drops team will be without a co-naming and bike sponsor as of next year.

As one of the few professional women's team to provide their entire squad with a wage, it will be a worrying sign if they fail to continue.

Trek will announce the rest of their squad from 1st August.