Sign up for our newsletter


Yates twins and Dani Rowe headline British World Championships teams

Joe Robinson
12 Sep 2018

Strong squads announced across the board for Great Britain ahead of the Worlds later this month

British Cycling has announced its men's and women's teams for the UCI World Championships in Innsbruck, Austria at the end of the month. The Yates twins, Simon and Adam, will headline the elite men's race and Dani Rowe will be targetting rainbow stripes in the women's race. 

With eight riders eligible to compete in the men's elite road race, British Cycling has decided to spearhead its team with Mitchelton-Scott duo Simon and Adam Yates, two riders that could suit the mountainous course on offer. 

Simon currently occupies the red jersey at the Vuelta a Espana as he looks to take a maiden Grand Tour victory while brother Adam rides in support of his efforts. 

They will be joined in Innsbruck by EF-Drapac rider Hugh Carthy, who recently enjoyed an impressive Tour of Britain, and British National Champion Connor Swift who also looked to be in good form at the recent week-long British stage race.

Team Sky's yearly representation comes in the form of Tao Geoghegan Hart, a potential wildcard for success, and experienced domestique Ian Stannard. Both Geraint Thomas and Chris Froome will miss out on the Worlds despite being longlisted with both announcing the end of their successful seasons at the Tour of Britain, last weekend.

Pete Kennaugh (Bora-Hansgrohe) and James Knox (Quick-Step Floors) round off the men's squad. As for the time trial, Alex Dowsett (Katusha-Alpecin) and Geoghagen Hart fill the two positions.

The women's team will combine youth and experience with the likes of Anna Henderson and Alice Cobb supporting Dani Rowe and Hannah Barnes. Sophie Wright completes the road race line up as Hannah's sister Alice joins Hayley Simmonds in the time trial.

Success could be bestowed on the Under 23 ranks as the likes of Mark Donovan, Stephen Williams and Max Stedman headline the men's road team and Charlie Tanfield fronts the time trial squad. The junior squad also presents an opportunity with junior cyclocross champion Ben Tullet and Pfeiffer Georgi present. 

Performance director Stephen Park commented on the selection highlighting it as an opportunity for young British talent to prove themselves on the biggest stage. 

'British riders have excelled themselves on the road this season at all levels and it’s been a pleasure to watch them in action. We’ve selected a strong team to take on this year’s world championships, and there’s a lot of talent within the squad,' said Park.

'It’s great to see so many WorldTour riders on our start list but equally, it shows what a great place we are in as a nation to be able to give riders such as Hugh Carthy, Connor Swift, Dani Christmas, Alice Cobb and Anna Henderson the opportunity to make their debut appearance at world championship level for the Great Britain Cycling Team.'

The Championships start on the 23rd September before drawing to a conclusion with the elite men's race on Sunday 30th September.

Elite Men’s Road Race:

Hugh Carthy
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Pete Kennaugh
James Knox
Ian Stannard
Connor Swift
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Elite Men’s Time Trial:

Alex Dowsett
Tao Geoghagen Hart

Elite Women’s Road Race

Hannah Barnes
Dani Christmas
Alice Cobb
Anna Henderson
Dani Rowe
Sophie Wright

Elite Women’s Time Trial

Alice Barnes
Hayley Simmonds

Under-23 Men’s Road Race

Mark Donovan
Ethan Hayter
James Shaw
Max Stedman
Stephen Williams

Under 23 Men’s Time Trial

Ethan Hayter
Charlie Tanfield

Junior Men’s Road Race

Lewis Askey
Alfie George
Mason Hollyman
Ben Tulett
Sam Watson

Junior Men’s Time Trial

Joe Laverick
Ben Tulett

Junior Women’s Road Race

Elynor Backstedt
Pfeiffer Georgi
Amy Monkhouse
Amelia Sharpe
April Tacey

Junior Women’s Time Trial

Pfeiffer Georgi
Elynor Backstedt