Sign up for our newsletter


Madison-Genesis reveal 2019 riders, led by National Champ Swift

The majority of the team stays the same but Madison-Genesis have signed a number of new riders for 2019

Jack Elton-Walters
22 Nov 2018

Madison-Genesis have confirmed their line-up for the 2019 season, with the bulk of the team staying on from this year. In addition to those riders who have remained part of the British Continental squad there will be a number of new names, some picked up as a result of the closure of JLT-Condor.

Erick Rowsell, Tobyn Horton, Jonny McEvoy, George Pym, Rich Handley, Mike Cuming, Matt Holmes and British Road Race Champion Connor Swift are the riders extending their tenure with the team, while Ian Bibby, Joe Laverick, Tom Moses, Jon Mould and Joey Walker have all signed for next year.

Retaining the services of Swift means the team will be spearheaded by the stripes of the National Champion throughout next season.

With the new signings there is also the re-signing of Roger Hammond to his role as directeur sportif after a spell with WorldTour team Dimension Data.

Hammond spoke of the completed roster with enthusiasm upon its announcement.

'On paper we have a really strong team so it’s up to us now to extract the best out of all of those guys individually, as a team,' he said.

'You’ve got the stable core, which I find is always important about a team is to keep a core; and the core has stayed the same and all we’ve done is to change the outside of it.

'The whole point of this team is to give these guys an opportunity. Right from the birth of the team it was all about providing that stable environment for people just to concentrate on realising their dreams and that’s what we want to do.'

Such a stable environment is proving harder and harder to find for British-based professionals as teams come and go, and even long-standing outfits like JLT-Condor are forced to call it a day.

Madison-Genesis roster for 2019

Ian Bibby
Mike Cuming
Rich Handley
Matt Holmes
Tobyn Horton
Joe Laverick
Johnny McEvoy
Tom Moses
Jon Mould
George Pym
Erick Rowsell
Connor Swift
Joey Walker

Read more about: