Sign up for our newsletter


Route of 2020 Tour de Yorkshire announced

Joe Robinson
17 Jan 2020

The men's and women's races set for exciting racing in 'toughest route ever'

The route for the 2020 men's and women's Tour de Yorkshire have been announced. Announced at the Leeds Civic Centre on Friday morning, both routes feature some of Yorkshire's toughest climbs for what ASO's Christian Prudhomme has described as the race's hardest ever route.

'Once again, the team at Welcome to Yorkshire have done a tremendous job in designing such a beautiful, challenging and varied route and I am looking forward to seeing how both races play out,' said Prudhomme.

'They are both harder than ever before, and when you factor in the millions of fans that will be lining the route, we know that the 2020 edition will be one to remember.'

Tour de Yorkshire 2020 route

The seventh edition of the men's race, taking place between 30th April and 3rd May, looks set to be decided by the final two stages which feature a combined 13 climbs. 

Stage 3 of the men's race will be a punchy 134km day between Barnsley and Huddersfield. After climbing Netherthong and Scapegoat Hill, the final 40km will see ascents of Hebden Bridge, Leeming and Shibden Wall, which should see a select group reach the finish line in Huddersfield.

The final stage of the women's race will shadow that of the men's Stage 3, totalling 114km, missing the climb of Todmorden.

The final stage of the men's race will run from Halifax to Leeds and revisits many of the roads used at the World Championships last September.

The 177.5km course will tackle seven categorised climbs as it heads into the Dales. The race will journey north from Halifax to tackle the climbs of Goose Eye, Barden Moor, Skyreholme and Lofthouse in the first 80km.

Looping back south, the race will then climb the 3.3km-long Greenhow Hill, Cow and Calf and Otley Chevin before finishing in Leeds.

Stage 2 of the men's race and Stage 1 of the women's race will tackle the exact same roads between Skipton and Leyburn over 124.5km. Memories of the 2014 Tour de France will be revisited as the race climbs the slopes of Buttertubs.

Stage 1 of the men's race will hug the Yorkshire coastline in a stage from Beverley to Redcar, with ascents of Hooks House Farm and Lythe Bank.

Last year's race saw Marianne Vos win the women's race while Team Ineos's Chris Lawless pipped Greg van Avermaet to the men's race title.

Read more about: