Sign up for our newsletter


Chris Froome awarded 2011 Vuelta title, now Britain's first Grand Tour winner

Jack Elton-Walters
18 Jul 2019

Original winner Juan Jose Cobo has been stripped of the 2011 Vuelta a Espana over doping irregularities

Chris Froome is now Britain's first Grand Tour winner after being retrospectively awarded the 2011 Vuelta a Espana title. Juan Jose Cobo, who stood on the top step of the podium at the end of the race, has been stripped of the win as a result of doping irregularities.

The decision sees Sir Bradley Wiggins elevated to second in the official standings for the 2011 Vuelta, but also means he can no longer claim to being Britain's first Grand Tour champion for his 2012 Tour de France victory.

The alterations to the standings of the 2011 Vuelta a Espana also give Bauke Mollema a Grand Tour podium finish by bumping him up to third.

It'll be interesting to see how each rider will feel about being moved up the standings years later. Andy Schleck described being awarded the 2010 Tour de France title, after it was taken away from Alberto Contador, as 'bullsh*t'.

The UCI had already revealed that abnormailities were found in Cobo's biological passport in a period spanning 2009 to 2011.

As a result the governing body imposed a three-year period of ineligibility on the 38-year-old, who retired in 2014. Cobo has not appealed in the 30 days since the decision, which now means his results are voided and Froome has been awarded the title.