Sign up for our newsletter


Team Ineos announce Tour of Britain line-up

2014 winner Dylan van Baarle and Russian talent Sivakov lead the six-man squad

George Smith
2 Sep 2019

Britain’s most successful cycling team, Team Ineos, have unveiled their six-man squad ahead of the start of the 2019 Tour of Britain, which begins this weekend on the Saturday 7th September.

Dylan van Baarle, the 2014 winner of the race, and young Russian talent, Pavel Sivakov, are the headline hopefuls as Team Ineos look for some success following a disastrous opening week at the Vuelta a Espana.

Ben Swift, the sole Brit in their line-up - who will be donning the British National Champion’s jersey on home soil - will be joined by Ireland’s Eddie Dunbar, Italy’s Gianni Moscon and Poland’s Michal Golas.

It remains to be seen how British fans will react to the team on the roadside after owner Jim Ratcliffe’s squad received a frosty reception at the Tour de Yorkshire earlier this year.

Many fans used the opportunity to express their anger about the involvement of his chemical company Ineos - the main sponsor of the team - in fracking, the environmentally degrading practice that has been linked to earthquakes.

Prior to that race, environmental campaigners Friends of the Earth, questioned whether ‘the likes of Geraint Thomas and Chris Froome really want to be associated with a planet-wrecking company like Ineos?'

While Froome’s absence is obvious, Thomas won’t even be making the start line in Glasgow this year either, with the Welshman a notable omission from the UK’s most prestigious stage race.

The previous Tour de France winner and this year’s runner up has just competed in the Tour of Germany, which finished yesterday. He was unable to help his team to any real finishes of note.

Elsewhere, British pair Alex Dowsett - a former stage winner in 2011 - and Harry Tanfield will lead their Katusha-Alpecin team.