Sign up for our newsletter


Public nominations open for new active travel media awards

Westminster University's Active Travel Academy launches inaugural Media Awards

Jack Elton-Walters
11 Oct 2019

The University of Westminster’s Active Travel Academy has launched a new set of awards to recognise the work of UK-based journalists, reporters and presenters in any form of media who are contributing to the public understanding of road safety and active travel - both cycling and walking.

There's also an award for the worst reporting, for which Channel 5 is surely the frontrunner.

The panel will be led by Director of the Active Travel Academy Dr Rachel Aldred, with assistance from journalist Laura Laker. Other panel members include academics Professor Guy Osborn and Dr Pieter Verdegem, Cycling UK's Victoria Hazael and Tanya Braun from Living Streets.

‘We are excited to be launching these Media Awards,' explained Dr Aldred. 'Our distinguished panel of active travel experts and academics are looking for the very best work in the field.

'As well as recognising the excellent work done by many journalists, we want to provide "good examples" of how to report active travel issues well.’

Members of the public are being asked to nominate work they feel is outstanding when it comes to covering active travel. There will be a People’s Choice Award for the best and worst coverage of the last 18 months.

More information about the awards: 

Active Travel Academy awards categories

1. News (written word) – Written news report, published in print or online  
2. News (broadcast) – News report broadcast on TV, radio or online  
3. Features (written) – Written feature story published in print or online  
4. Features (broadcast) – TV, film, radio podcast entries up to 120 minutes  
5. Local media – Print, online or broadcast entries from local media outlets  
6. Investigation – An outstanding piece of investigative journalism. Entries can be print, broadcast, online or multimedia and may be a single report or a number of items covering the same story  
7. Student Journalist – entries must have been published or broadcast (including student journals / student websites)  
People’s choice awards  
8a.Worst reporting on TV/Radio, print or online  
8b. Best reporting on TV/Radio, print or online

The deadline for submissions is midnight on 3rd November 2019. Judging will take place in November, with the winners announced at the ATA Media Awards in Central London on 25h November.

Read more about: