Sign up for our newsletter


Team Ineos confirm star-studded team for Route d'Occitanie

Joe Robinson
30 Jul 2020

Chris Froome and Egan Bernal restart season at lowkey French stage race this weekend

Team Ineos will head to the Route d'Occtanie stage race this weekend with a team lineup boasting no fewer than eight Grand Tour victories among them.

The British WorldTour team will descend onto the small four-day stage race in France with a star-studded team that includes two Tour de France champions preparing for the rescheduled French Grand Tour next month.

Current Tour champion Egan Bernal will ride alongside four-time winner Chris Froome as joint leaders at the Route d'Occtanie, starting in Saint-Affrique on Saturday 1st August.

It will be the first time the two Tour champions have lined up alongside one another since the Colombia 2.1 stage race in February 2019.

For support, the leading duo will also have highly-rated British climber Tao Geoghegan Hart and future Grand Tour hopeful Pavel Sivakov while experienced domestique Andrey Amador and time trial specialist Jonathan Castroviejo will also line up.

Dutch Classics specialist Dylan Van Baarle will complete the seven-man team.

The Route d'Occtanie is usually a low-key affair, but thanks to the rearranged UCI calendar it will profit from an above-average start list in 2020.

Among the other riders set to start the race are Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana).

The fairly mountainous stage race will form part of a truncated race programme for Bernal and Froome as they look to build form ahead of the Tour in August.

They will then head to Tour de l'Ain on 7th August, being joined by fellow Tour winner and teammate Geraint Thomas, before the trio head off to the shortened Criterium du Dauphine on 12th August.

This stint in France will also signify the start of Froome's final act at Team Ineos as the British rider heads to Israel Start-Up Nation for the 2021 season.

Team Ineos squad at the Route d'Occtanie 2020

Chris Froome (GBR)
Egan Bernal (COL)
Pavel Sivakov (RUS)
Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR)
Andrey Amador (CRC)
Jonathan Castreveijo (ESp)
Dylan van Baarle (NED)