Sign up for our newsletter


Adam Yates to target stages instead of Tour de France yellow jersey

Joe Robinson
20 Aug 2020

Britain's hope of Tour glory fade as Yates confirms he will hunt stage wins, not overall

Great Britain is likely to miss out on a Tour de France podium finisher for the first time since 2014 as the last remaining hope for home glory, Mitchelton-Scott's Adam Yates, has confirmed he will be targeting stages instead of the General Classification.

The 28-year-old has been named as part of the Australian team's eight-man line-up for the Tour starting on Saturday 29th August, presenting Yates as 'a third winning option in the mountains as he approaches his first Grand Tour in several years without General Classification ambitions', according to his team.

Yates, who won the best young rider classification in 2016, will spearhead a team of stage hunters alongside fellow climbers Spaniard Mikel Nieve and Colombian Esteban Chaves, experienced South African Daryl Impey and Slovenian sprinter Luka Mezgec.

Kiwi duo Jack Bauer and Sam Bewley will fulfil the domestique duties alongside Danish rider Chris Juul-Jensen. This will be the first time Mitchelton-Scott have raced the Tour without an Australian rider since their debut in 2012.

'This year has not been a normal one by any stretch of the imagination but the team is focussed and ready for the challenge. We are very happy with the mix of experience and talent we have available for this year's race. This is a very complete group across all terrains,' sports director Matt White said about the team announcement.

'Last year was an incredible race for the team and we will continue in the same vein of targeting stage wins throughout. One thing for sure is we won't be leaving France without giving our all and making our fans and sponsors proud of the way we take on the world.'

Yates is still out of contract for 2021 with the Lancastrian having been linked with a move to Team Ineos at the end of the season.

Twin brother Simon Yates recently signed a two-year contract extension with the team and will target overall victory in the Giro d'Italia in October.

Mitchelton-Scott's 2020 Tour de France team

Adam Yates  
Esteban Chaves  
Mikel Nieve  
Jack Bauer  
Sam Bewley  
Chris Juul-Jensen  
Daryl Impey  
Luka Mezgec