Advertisement

Sign up for our newsletter

Advertisement

How to watch and live stream the Giro d'Italia 2022

Robyn Davidson
4 May 2022

A complete guide to watching and live streaming the Giro d'Italia 2022

The 105th Giro d'Italia will begin on Friday 6th May 2022 in Hungary as the hunt for the maglia rosa begins once more.

Last year saw Ineos Grenadiers' Egan Bernal triumph in Milan. He will not be taking to the start line this year however as he's still recovering from his horrific off-season crash. 

This year's first Grand Tour will no doubt bring a plethora of excitement and action with it, featuring star names such as Richard Caparaz, Mathieu van der Poel, João Almeida and Biniam Girmay.

The tifosi will enjoy visits to iconic passes such as the Passo San Pellegrino, Passo Pordoi and Passo Fedaia along the route from Budapest, briefly into Slovenia, and onwards to Verona.

Keep an eye out for riders such as 2017 champion Tom Dumoulin, the peloton's constant presence of Alejandro Valverde, and Vincenzo Nibali on his home town visit to Messina.

How to watch the Giro d'Italia 2022

Live coverage of the Giro d'Italia 2022 in the UK will be shown on Eurosport, discovery+ and GCN+.

Eurosport will be providing extensive live coverage of all 21 stages as well as evening highlights for each stage. 

For those with the most basic packages, you can catch hour-long highlights shows on Quest (Freeview 12, Sky 144, Virgin 169) at 7pm each evening. 

In regards to previous 'Eurosport Player' users, this has been subsumed into discovery+ and the sports package is available for £6.99 a month

GCN+ is accessible on desktop and phone, plus it's now available on Apple TV too, offering uninterrupted live coverage and longer broadcasting than television with pre and post-stage live shows.

GCN+ is available here for £6.99 a month or £39.99 per year.



Giro d'Italia 2022: Live TV guide

Live TV coverage of the 2022 Giro d'Italia from Eurosport and GCN+.

All coverage times and channels are open to change and confirmation before the race.

Eurosport 1's timings for future stages will be updated throughout the race.

Stage 1: Friday 6th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:10 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 2: Saturday 7th May

GCN+: 12:35 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 13:50 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 3: Sunday 8th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:15 BST - 17:45 BST.

Rest day: Monday 9th May

Stage 4: Tuesday 10th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:15 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 5: Wednesday 11th May

GCN+: 10:00 BST - 15:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: 11:20 BST - 16:30 BST.

Stage 6: Thursday 12th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:25 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 7: Friday 13th May

GCN+: 10:15 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 11:30 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 8: Saturday 14th May

GCN+: 12:15 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 13:25 - 16:45 BST.

Stage 9: Sunday 15th May

GCN+: 10:15 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 11:25 BST - 17:45 BST.

Rest day: Monday 16th May

Stage 10: Tuesday 17th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:10 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 11: Wednesday 18th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:10 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 12: Thursday 19th May

GCN+: 10:30 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: 11:40 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 13: Friday 20th May

GCN+: 12:00 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 14: Saturday 21st May

GCN+: 11:45 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: 12:50 BST - 17:45 BST.

Stage 15: Sunday 22nd May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: 13:00 BST - 17:45 BST

Rest day: Monday 23rd May

Stage 16: Tuesday 24th May

GCN+: 09:45 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 17: Wednesday 25th May

GCN+: 11:15 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 18: Thursday 26th May

GCN+: 12:30 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 19: Friday 27th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 16:45 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 20: Saturday 28th May

GCN+: 11:00 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Stage 21: Sunday 29th May

GCN+: 12:30 BST - 17:00 BST.
Eurosport 1: TBC

Find all our Giro d'Italia coverage on our hub page, and don't miss our complete guide to the 2022 Giro d'Italia.