Sign up for our newsletter


Team Van: Ford Transit to sponsor super-team from 2022 uniting Van Aert and Van der Poel

Other signings reported to include Van der Breggen, Van Vleuten and Van Avermaet. Team to be managed by QuickStep's Gert van Bondt

Ford is set to make its return to the world of professional cycling in 2022 through a new super-team sponsored by its Transit Van subsidiary. With a provisional name of 'Team Van powered by Ford', the biggest news is the bringing together of arch rivals Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel.

Pushing each other to extremes of racing achievement across cyclocross for a number of years and more recently on the road – with the pair set to take the start line at this weekend's Tour of Flanders as joint-favourites – the new team is looking to line the pair up as internal-rivals at all major races next season, believing this approach will guarantee the most victories according to Transit's head of sporting endeavour Erik van Aprilgrap.

'We've been watching "the vans" of cycling and realised the smart money was on backing them all,' explained Van Aprilgrap. 'So that's what we did!'

He added, 'it's not just our headline men's duo either. We've recruited a number of the best female pros and both teams will be backed by some of the strongest domestiques in the peloton.

'We're just waiting to hear from the UCI as to whether we can drive Transits instead of estate cars in races next year, also.'

As alluded to by Van Aprilgrap, the rest of the team is hardly there to make up the numbers. Taking on the women's WorldTour, as well as the men's, Team Van powered by Ford will be led by current and most recent previous World Champions Anna van der Breggen and Annemiek van Vleuten, with Ellen van Dijk as road captain.

Backing up the men's leaders will be Greg Van Avermaet, Dylan van Baarle, Sep Vanmarcke and Tejay van Garderen.

Sep's brother will also be in the team Transit Van during races as Ken Vanmarke moves over from EF and joins QuickStep's Gert van Bondt on the team's off-bike roster.