Sign up for our newsletter


British Cycling announces cycling team for Tokyo 2020

Joe Robinson
21 Jun 2021

Geraint Thomas, Tom Pidcock and Lizzie Deignan headline mixed team searching for gold at Tokyo Olympic Games

Geraint Thomas, Tom Pidcock and Lizzie Deignan headline the list of cyclists announced this morning that will compete for Team GB at the rescheduled Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

British Cycling's list includes 26 riders in total, who will compete across 14 disciplines in the Summer games, set to begin on 23rd July.

A strong men's road race team will compete for gold on the Mount Fuji course with three Grand Tour winners among the team of four. 2020 Giro d'Italia winner Tao Geoghegan-Hart, 2018 Tour de France winner Thomas and 2018 Vuelta a Espana winner Simon Yates are joined in the squad by Simon's twin brother Adam. Geoghegan-Hart and Thomas will then double up for the time-trial as Alex Dowsett misses out on selection.

Silver medalist from London 2012 Deignan leads a team of two in the women's road race alongside Anna Shackley who will also represent Team GB in the women's time trial.

High hopes lie in the mountain bike races, where Pidock and Evie Richards will fly the flag entertaining real hopes of adding to the GB medal count.

On the track, there will be a mixture of youth and experience as multiple Olympic gold medalists Laura Kenny, Jason Kenny and Ed Clancy are joined by Games debutants Ethan Hayter, Neah Evans and Jack Carlin.

Talking on the squad selection, British Cycling performance director Stephen Park commented that the mix of experience and youth provides an exciting prospect in regards to competing for medals.

'I am incredibly excited by the squad we have selected to represent Team GB in Tokyo, and there will be plenty for British cycling fans to cheer for during the Olympic Games. We have six Olympic champions bolstering our squad, with Geraint Thomas, Ed Clancy, Jason Kenny, Laura Kenny, Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald all very driven to add more medals to their palmares,' said Park.

'At the other end of the spectrum, we pride ourselves on the strength of our pathway, and this is evident in the team we have selected with recent Academy graduates making our Olympic team. Josie Knight, Ethan Vernon and Anna Shackley have seized every opportunity this additional year has given them and it will be testament to the work of our pathway programme to see them on the start line in Tokyo.'

Team GB Cycling Team for Tokyo 2020:

Men’s Road:

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Geraint Thomas
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Men’s TT:

Tao Geoghegan Hart
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Road:

Lizzie Deignan
Anna Shackley

Women’s TT:

Anna Shackley

Men’s MTB:

Tom Pidcock

Women’s MTB:

Evie Richards

Men’s BMX SX:

Kye Whyte
Ross Cullen (travelling reserve)

Women’s BMX SX:

Beth Shriever

Men’s BMX Freestyle Park:

Declan Brooks
James Jones (travelling reserve)

Women’s BMX Freestyle Park:

Charlotte Worthington

Men’s Endurance:

Ed Clancy
Ethan Hayter
Ethan Vernon
Matt Walls
Ollie Wood
Charlie Tanfield (travelling reserve)

Women’s Endurance:

Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Neah Evans
Laura Kenny
Josie Knight

Women’s Sprint:

Katy Marchant

Men’s Sprint:

Jack Carlin
Jason Kenny
Ryan Owens
Phil Hindes (travelling reserve)

Read more about: