Sign up for our newsletter


Who has abandoned the Tour de France 2021?

A guide to which riders have abandoned the Tour de France so far

Cyclist magazine
9 Jul 2021

The 108th Tour de France has reached its first rest day after a brutal opening week that saw Tadej Pogacar stamp his authority in the race for the yellow jersey.

Winding roads, dangerous courses and tough conditions have combined and seen numerous crashes and riderss failing to make the time cut in the first week.

Just look at Stage 9, the summit finish to Montee de Tignes, where no less than 12 riders failed to continue their Tour journey.

Below is a running tally of the riders who have left the race so far.

Who has abandoned the Tour de France 2021 so far?

Stage 1

Jasha Sütterlin (Team DSM)  
Ignatas Konovalovas (Groupama-FDJ)  
Cyril Lemoine (B&B Hotels-KTM)  

Stage 2

Marc Soler (Movistar)

Stage 3

Robert Gesink (Jumbo-Visma)  
Jack Haig (Bahrain Victorious)  
Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal)

Stage 4

No abandons

Stage 5

No abandons

Stage 6

No abandons

Stage 7

No abandons

Stage 8

No abandons

Stage 9

Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)
Tim Merlier (Alpecin-Fenix)
Nans Peters (AG2R Citroën)
Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma)
Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix)
Loic Vliegen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)
Jacopo Guarnieri (Groupama-FDJ)
Anthony Delaplace (Arkéa Samsic)
Stefan de Bod (Astana-Premier Tech)
Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels-KTM)
Nic Dlamini (Qhubeka-NextHash)
Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ)

Stage 10

Jonas Koch (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)

Stage 11

Tony Martin (Jumbo-Visma)
Clément Russo (Arkéa Samsic)
Tiesj Benoot (Team DSM)
Tosh van der Sande (Lotto Soudal)
Dan McLay (Arkéa Samsic) 
Miles Scotson (Groupama-FDJ)
Victor Campenaerts (Qhubeka-NextHash)
Luke Rowe (Ineos Grenadiers)

Stage 12

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)

Stage 13 

Michael Gogl (Qhubeka-NextHash)
Roger Kluge (Lotto-Soudal)
Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange)
Lucas Hamilton (Team BikeExchange)

Stage 14

Warren Barguil (Arkéa Samsic)
Søren Kragh Andersen (Team DSM)

Stage 15

Nacer Bouhanni (Arkéa Samsic)
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team TotalEnergies)

Stage 16

Amund Grøndahl Jansen (Team BikeExchange)
Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo)

Stage 17

Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma)

Stage 18

No abandons

Stage 19

Michael Woods (Israel Start-Up Nation)

Miguel Ángel López (Movistar)

Stages 20 and 21

No abandons

Read more about: